Force India becomes “Racing Point”, rookie driver numbers confirmed

After speculation regarding Force India’s impending name change for the 2019 season it has been confirmed that the teams official entry will be Racing Point.

This follows the takeover of the team led by Lawrence Strolls consortium in August which saw the team become “Racing Point Force India” but the Force India name has been dropped now the former owner Vijay Mallya is no longer a part of the team.

The Force India name was first present in 2008 when Mallya purchased the Spyker team. Mallya hoped the Indian name would attract sponsors from his home country but it would prove that this wouldn’t work. Mallya did manage to bring international sponsors to the car like Austrian water brand BWT.

Mallya’s own personal financial struggles and legal issues meant that he could no longer fund the team and went into administration prior to Stroll’s purchase. This lends to a new era for the team as it looks to close the gap to the big three.

Also confirmed was the driver numbers of the rookies for 2019 except Alexander Albon who hasn’t yet chosen his.

Lando Norris will run #4, a number previously used by fellow Brit Max Chilton. George Russell will use #63 while Kubica will run #88. Giovinazzi will take on the number of previous Sauber driver Adrian Sutil (#99).

Copyright: Williams Racing

Join in on the conversation on Twitter & Instagram: @drivenbysport

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s